Skip to content

K.I.S.S (Keep it Simple and Stylish)

keep your style simple and keep it pushing!

I’d like to think that I was born with a certain sense of style, which unfortunately cannot be said for all of us.  And that is in no way, shape or form a slam on anyone who is “fashion challenged”- I’m mathematically challenged, and I’m not afraid to say it!  One of the points that I stress and hit on quite frequently on my blog is the use of “flair” in any and everything that you wear!  What is flair?  Well, according to Dictionary. Com it’s “smartness of style, manner, etc.”  I personally think that flair is anything that you wear which allows your own personality to shine through!  In my case for example, my “flair” is usually a bold pair of bangles, or a brightly colored hobo bag- and depending on the weather, it may even be a boldly printed scarf on an otherwise monochromatic outfit- you get my drift!

 Flair in short is anything that will make YOU stand out in a crowd.  I do have a few “faves” that I highly recommend that are sure to add that extra little “oomph” to your look:

  • Instead of wearing a white tee or tank top with your favorite jeans, why not wear a boldly printed or brightly colored t-shirt or tank top.  White is synonymous with the fresh and clean look, but doesn’t leave much to the imagination- remember, you want to add pizzazz to your look! Where’s the best place to shop for this look- Old Navy.
  • If you do decide to wear the ever in style basic white tee with jeans,  pair it with an accessory, such as a belt- that’s not too bulky, but wide enough to be seen!  Make sure that your shoes and your belt coordinate, this is a fashion faux pas that you’ll never live down!  Where do I go for belts and shoes- Macy’s, of course!
  • Bangles and dangling earrings are not only very feminine, but the safest accessories around!  Rule of thumb is less is more! So, if you do choose to wear dangling earrings or large hoops, make sure that you don’t overdo it with bangles!  One or two will do- and by all means, make sure that they coordinate well together ( don’t wear plastic bangles with metal earrings- metal to metal, plastic to plastic, get it?). Check out Kohl’s for the best selection on bangles, bracelets, earrings and more!

  Flair can be your best friend, or it can be your worst enemy, but if you don’t take a chance you will never know.  One thing is for sure- no one else in this world has the same flair as you, so have fun with it, keep experimenting until you get it right (your real friends will be honest with you) and as always; keep it  simple, keep it stylish and keep it pushing!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

