Skip to content

K.I.S.S (Keep it Simple and Stylish)

keep your style simple and keep it pushing!

As a little girl, one of my worst memories was getting my hair braided.  This was because of two major factors: 1) I had very short hair, so my sisters would literally pull my brains out just to grab enough hair to braid; 2) Before you got your hair braided, it had to be straightened- “Kentucky Fried” straightened, with a hot comb that you heated up on the stovetop- Ouch!  Well thank goodness for modern times!  Stove top hot combs are a thing of the past- while they are still used today (they are now electric), they are no longer needed for braided hair styles!! 

My little girl loves braids and just how versatile they can be style-wise.  Just recently while we were out shopping at the local mall, we saw some young ladies wearing what appeared to be “Mohawks” but they were braided hair!  I have to say, it was just about the coolest thing that I had seen in a long time, so I decided to try it out on my little one, well not so little one- she’s 10 years old now.  Needless to say, she loved it! It’s now her signature style, and all the craze amongst her little girlfriends.  Not only is this style chic and fabulous, it’s also easy and virtually maintenance –free.  Are you already rocking this style?  Share your picture and story with us!

courtesy of flickr.com

courtesy of flickr.comcourtesy of flickr.com

courtesy of flickr.com

Tags: , , , , , ,

